Skip to main content

Justice Betrayed (A Memphis Cold Case Novel)

Title:  Justice Betrayed (A Memphis Cold Case Novel)

Author:  Patricia Bradley

Pages:  352

Year:  2018

Publisher:  Revell

My rating:  5 out of 5 stars.

This is the author’s third novel in the series and it was outstanding!  The first two books are titled:  Justice Delayed and Justice Buried.  In the story, we read about Elvis tribute artists who meet for a competition that offers big prize money.  What happens is that one of the contestants becomes gravely ill and the assailant looks to be getting away with the crime.  Yet, readers will be taken back to the beginning of the story that starts in the past of a woman named Shirley.

Expertly written prose that kept me engaged trying to figure out who was the antagonist and how all the clues spread throughout the story fit together.  At first, the fact that two murders happening 17 years apart drew little attention until more clues revealed a bigger picture and the culprits were behind many negative and deadly actions.

A police detective, Rachel Sloane, has worked her way up to the homicide department even though her father wants her to return to practicing law.  When the judge speaks, people are supposed to jump and do his bidding, but Rachel has a reason to be in this department.  Every time she enters her office and meets with her lieutenant she is reminded of a past relationship they once had.

Now, detective Sloane’s life and the life of Gina are literally on the line.  When you read this thrilling book, be prepared to enjoy, be surprised and see if you can figure out who the person is behind the years of evil acts.  Then, maybe you too will enjoy Patricia Bradley’s stories so much you will read her first two novels in the series and tell others about them!

Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility. 

Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter@lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…