Skip to main content

Yuma Prison Crashout (A Hank Fallow Western #1)

Title:  Yuma Prison Crashout (A Hank Fallow Western #1)

Author:  William W. Johnston with J. A. Johnstone

Pages:  364

Year:  2018

Publisher:  Pinnacle Western

My rating:  5 out of 5 stars

What an exciting read!  The author does a masterful job placing the story in a federal penitentiary at a time when prisons were rotten places to be.  The main character is a former law officer, a U.S. Deputy Marshall, now serving 10 years in prison.  To learn why he is in prison, you’ll find the answer in the pages of the book.  Hank Fallon is the man’s name and he is working in the laundry room, ignoring the attempted prison breakout, with all the noise of gunfire and blood.

Hank once had a wife and daughter he adored, but something devasting happened to them that the author keeps readers in suspense about.  The only thing on Hank’s mind is to do his time then go find out what happened to his family and who did it.  He is a changed man now, a hard man.  Due to his heroic deed of saving the warden of the prison from certain demise, he is paroled.  Now he is involved in an organization that seeks to be more recognized than the Pinkertons Agency, but their methods are no where near the same caliber.

If Hank wants to discover what happened to his family, he must do what the men say or die.  There is no other option for Hank.  Next thing he knows he is once again in prison, but in a worse place than before. Now he is in Yuma where staying alive is the number one concern.  But Hank has been sent there on a mission by this organization.  Will he succeed and learn about his past?

The second book in the series is due out soon and you won’t want to miss the exciting adventure and dangers!  So, grab a cool drink, curl up and get lost in the pages of the newest series by the Johnstone family.
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…