Skip to main content

Miss Serena’s Secret (Regency Brides: A Promise of Hope #2)

Title:  Miss Serena’s Secret (Regency Brides:  A Promise of Hope #2)

Author:  Carolyn Miller

Pages:  344

Year:  2018

Publisher:  Kregel Publications

My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.

Serena Winthrop is fresh out of the schoolroom, and at age 18 she is not interested in finding a husband.  She wants only to pursue her love of art.  She is quite a skilled artist for one so young.  Her brother-in-law, with whom she lives, has hired a private art instructor for her to continue her lessons at home now that she has graduated finishing school.  She has a difficult time trusting men because of something that happened in the past.  When she meets her brother-in-law’s best friend, Viscount Henry “Harry” Carmichael, she remains cool and aloof.  She is not swayed by his charm or good looks.  At least that is what she tells herself.

Viscount Carmichael is surprised at Serena’s reaction to him.  Ladies usually fall all over themselves to be in his company.  Granted he has a reputation as a gambler and a charmer, but he has never been rebuffed so completely.  He begins to look at his life thus far and realizes he needs to make some changes.  He returns home to find the estate finances in dire straits of which he had no idea.  His father has been neglecting the tenants and the land of the estate for some time.  Harry has always wanted to reopen the mines on the family land, but his father is adamantly opposed.  His father also seems a bit forgetful at times.  Harry soon learns the management of the estate will fall on his shoulders.  However, he can’t stop thinking about Serena.

I have read all the Regency Brides Series thus far and have not been disappointed in any of the novels.  The author writes with an ability to make this reader feel the emotions of the characters:  their despair, angst, anger, hurt, love and others.  The subtle humor in conversations is one of my favorite aspects of the stories.  The presence of God in the center of characters’ lives, whether at the beginning of the story or the end, is wonderful.  I can’t wait for book three, The Making of Mrs. Hale, in the Promise of Hope Series which will be released in November 2018!
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…