Skip to main content

Thirst of Steel

Title:  Thirst of Steel (The Tox Files #3)

Author:  Ronie Kendig

Pages:  464

Year:  2018

Publisher:  Bethany House Publishers

My rating is 4 out of 5 stars.

Tox has agreed to one last mission before settling down with Haven.  The Arrow & Flame Order has ramped up their campaign to obtain more power.  This time they are seeking the sword David used to kill Goliath.  It is imbued with some sort of supernatural power that cannot be allowed to see the light of day according to those fighting the AFO.  Tox must keep the leader of the AFO from obtaining the three pieces of the sword covertly while also trying to protect his friend, Tzivia, who is out to find the sword to free her father from being held captive by the AFO.

Meanwhile, Haven is in the United States researching Tox’s family history at the urging of Tzaddik.  The AFO is active on American soil by killing what seem to be random people with their phosphorescent arrows, causing their victims to melt from the inside out.  Haven and Tox have been apart for months and she wonders if she will ever see him again.  He is deep undercover and not allowed to receive any communications.  Tox’s best friend and fellow Wraith team member, Ram, gives her only the barest of details about Tox while he is on his mission.  Haven has something she desperately need to tell Tox, but will she ever have the chance?

Ronie Kendig delivers another suspense-filled, tension-packed story that will keep readers glued to their seats.  There are twists in the plot to keep readers guessing and the ending is a shocking surprise.  I admire the lengths Wraith team will go to in order to protect the U.S., as well as their fellow soldiers.  A shout out of thanks to all those in the military past and present who have served or are currently serving to keep our country safe.  Having read book two so long ago, I had a little trouble keeping all the many characters straight.  I also think the flashbacks to the past disrupted the story taking place in the present day.  I recommend reading the books in order as the story is continuous and readers will not understand what is going on in book three without the backgrounds of the first two books in the series.  This was an exciting ride with Tox and Wraith team!  I can’t wait to see what this author creates next that I’m sure will entertain for hours!
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…