Friday, April 12, 2019

Driftwood Bay (A Hope Harbor Novel #5)

Title:  Driftwood Bay (A Hope Harbor Novel #5)

Author:  Irene Hannon

Pages:  368

Year:  2019

Publisher:  Revell

My rating:  5 out of 5 stars

The titles of the books in the Hope Harbor series are Hope Harbor, Sea Rose Lane, Sandpiper Cove, Pelican Point and Driftwood Bay.  The author has done a marvelous job of storytelling the author brings to readers hearts and minds a message of hope.

Each novel has characters that are continuations from previous books, while also introducing us to new characters and insights into familiar ones who inhabit Hope Harbor.  In the latest tale, I was soon swept into the heart-touching story of a single man trying to raise his niece after the loss of his mother.  Alongside that thread is the tale of an immigrant family brought to America from their former Syrian home after the loss of family members and so much more.  Keeping both those threads going, we get to “see” how Marci is doing as a newlywed and running the local paper.  These are but a few of the threads woven together and show us a masterpiece telling us hope from loss, new paths forged from the rubble of former lives, and of course there are other threads or themes I haven’t shared.

Irene Hannon’s touch of reality in the genre of fiction is astounding!  The characters and their tales seem so lifelike.  I wouldn’t be surprised if some readers have experienced the trials shared in the book.  My heart was touched seeing how one particular character named Jeanette was rebuilding her life from ashes after she relocated while shielding herself from others.

Readers may enjoy the story more if they read the other tales in books 1-4 first.  Whether you read this one first as a stand alone or not, here is a novel sure to uplift your heart!

Note:  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility. 

No comments: